A Website on Introduction of the World's Oldest Way of Life

Hinduism - It is a Way of Life.  Hinduism For All has been launched for simple answers to Complicated and Curious questions.

You are not connected. Please login or register

What are Samskaras(Hindu Rituals)?

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1What are Samskaras(Hindu Rituals)? Empty What are Samskaras(Hindu Rituals)? on Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:14 pm


Samskaras, or Hindu rites of passage, according to the ancient sage Panini, are the ornaments that decorate one's personality. They mark the important stages of one's life and enable one to live a fulfilling life complete with happiness and contentment. They pave the way for one's physical and spiritual journey through this life. It is believed that the various Hindu samskaras meticulously leads to a purification of one's sins, vices, faults, and even correction of physical deformities. The Upanishads mention samskaras as a means to grow and prosper in all four aspects of human pursuit - Dharma (righteousness), Artha (wealth), Karma and Kama (work and pleasure), and Moksha (salvation).
Hindu Scriptures, places human species as a part of animal kingdom in lines with the modern evolutionary biologists and shows the way to divine and make human life sublime. All the activities of animals are directed towards
i) food,
ii) sleep,
iii) procreation and
iv) security.

If human beings continue to do the same forgetting the Divine they are no better than animals. The samskaras reinforces the thought of Divine during every stage of human life. If practiced diligently, it ensures that the Summum bonum (achieve Divine consciousness) of human life is accomplished in this very life.

Hindu philosophy classifies impacting factors as Adhyathmika (Self), Adhibaudhika (Terrestrial) and Adhidaivika (Extra-Terrestrial). These factors should be in harmony to fulfill any task. The imbalances should be harmonized before we can achieve the desired results. The Vedic rituals whether personal, social or religious aims at balancing these contributing factors.

Human accomplishments are consecrated by these rituals. Shastras extol that by birth a human being attains the status of the living creature and gains the status of twice-born after these sacraments. The second birth is born of the sense of Divine consciousness. The rituals, mantras and the blessings of Divine, priest and well wishers sanctifies the accomplishment. It helps the person to ascertain his/her role in the fulfillment at every stage of life and relate it to the stakeholders and the cosmos. Divine guidance, presence and grace is invoked and felt during all these ceremonies. There are sixteen rituals (Shodasa samskaras) prescribed by scriptures and adhered across the land of Bharath for ages.

What are the 16 Hindu Samakaras?

1.Garba Aadhana - Pre consummation rites which purify the parents
2.Pumsavana - Rites for the carrying mother
3.Simantonnayana - Prenatal rite for the protection of carrying mother and her womb
4.Jatakarma - Natal rite purifying the new born
5.Namakarana - Naming Ceremony
6.Nishkramana - Exposing the infant to outside world
7.Annaprashana - First Feeding of solid food
8.Chaulam - Tonsure
9.Karnavedhana - Piercing the ears
10.Aksharaabhyasa or Vidyaramba - Beginning of Education
11.Upanayana - Opening the eye of wisdom. Lit. bringing near the Guru, scripture and God. Investiture of Sacred Thread.
12.Vedaarambha - Initiation into the Vedic Education
13.Keshanta or Ritusuddhi - Whole body Shave for boys or Nuptial rites for girls
14.Samaavartana - Convocation or Completion of Education
15.Vivaha - Marriage
16.Anthyeshti - Funeral Rites
The samskaras vary slightly based on the conventions of the community.

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum